Your Beautiful Messy Life

I recently asked my community for some feedback on what you would like to read on my blog. The area of work life balance was the outright winner.Peaceconflict

I have created a series to dive deeply into ways you can cultivate a more productive, rewarding and balanced life.

Today we are looking at mindfulness and how we view our time. 

Just like holistic medicine versus western medicine; do you want to get to the source of the issue or simply apply a bandaid and a prescription? I want to get to the source. This process will take a some time. Think of it like an exciting new adventure to win back your time.

Advances in technology, working moms who can do it all and the pressures of our materialistic society have made us all crazy. Yes, crazy.

When a seed is planted, it must be nurtured in the right environment and given time to bloom into the full expression of itself.

There are things in our life that take time to fully develop, mature and bloom. Marriages, retirement investments, the next generation, deep meaningful friendships, careers, education, wisdom, expertise, gardens and practices of mindfulness. These things are like oak trees, the longer they grow the more storms they can weather. 

naturedoesnthurry_HBWe feel irritated when the internet connection is slow and it takes more than the blink of an eye to read our updated feed on facebook. When did we become so impatient? 

Somewhere along the way, we have begun to expect this level of speed in life in general. We have sped up so fast in such a short period of time that we have forgotten that our genetic make-up, our bodies and the forces that run planet earth did not do the same.

beherenow_rathtrevor_HB2015Here are a FOUR techniques to increase mindfulness.

1. Do you have a meditation practice or one that you only talk about? We will wash off yesterdays dirt from our bodies each morning without question but do you wash off yesterday’s stress from your mind? Start with 5 minutes each morning beginning tomorrow. No excuses.

Set your alarm 5 minutes earlier and go into your bathroom if you have to. This is how I got started in my meditation practice years ago. Two young kids were either going to drive me to a daily happy hour at 5 pm sharp or a meditation practice….I feel confident in my choice.

Five minutes will grow into longer with time. You will notice your practice is working when out of the blue you lose your patience one day and realize that you didn’t meditate that morning.

2. Yoga teaches you to be comfortable with your Self, to spend time connected to your breath and increases mindfulness. Do yoga! There is hot yoga, Bikram’s, Hatha, Ashtanga, Yin, Sunrise, Flow, Relaxation, All Levels, Zoomer, Power and you can attend classes, studios, watch YouTube videos or do DVD’s in the privacy of your home. Find one that works for you.

3. Ditch the technology. Not all the time, relax! Constant interruptions from your technological devices do not foster mindfulness. (I will be diving deeply into this one in the next post.)

Ask yourself when it is an appropriate time to mute your phone, to leave it in your bag or even at home when you go out for short periods of time. You can thank me later in the comments. Messybeautiful34. Love your beautiful messy life and don’t beat yourself up. We all worry because that is part of being human. Back to Tip #1, #2 and #3, when we are more mindful we use our time more wisely and worry less. Think of all the time you spend projecting and worrying? This gives you the time you need for not only a meditation practice and yoga classes, but for doing more of things that you love.

An outstanding day in my life is filled with variety, creativity, partnerships, laughter, productivity, people, quite times, yoga, meditation, nature, reading, dancing, games with my kids, throwing water balloons at my husband and really good food.

Are all of my days filled with these things, absolutely not. But I am steering my ship in the right direction these days with my awareness.

Live life in FULL bloom.

The images in this post are a part of our Happy Boxes project, co-created with the photography of my husband Richard with photo editing by yours truly.

Get your daily dose of laughter, joy, beauty and inspiration and Happy Boxes:
 Instagram    Facebook Page   Twitter   Pinterest

Visit Sessions With Lisa to book a Life Coaching session today.
When you talk, I’ll listen.
brick_headshot_May_2015

 

14 thoughts on “Your Beautiful Messy Life

    1. I SOOO appreciate the nomination but am not accepting nominations this year. I am glad you enjoyed this post and thank you for stopping by🌸 Be well and shine on Luzia☀️

  1. Wonderful Post and I can so relate to this.. Retiring the end of last August its taken a Year almost to sort out my mind and allow myself that inner space to relax and sort out that inner chatter that sabotages ones free time..

    I am now taking up my Qi Gong which I had let slip and getting back into deep meditation practice.. 🙂 and I have stopped beating my self up.. 🙂
    Love and Hugs Lisa..
    Sue ❤

    1. That inner chatter has sabotaged the best of us. Combine a few poor nights sleep, sick kids, a busy week, family commitments and the doubt starts to creep in once again. Here is to continuing to walk towards the light with a smile and a dream. Thank you for all of your comments and sunshine that follows them.

  2. I love this post!! I sometimes get stuck in the circle of “what I should have done…or didn’t do” during a given day, and then beat myself up about it. Double whammy!! Lately, I don’t put pressure on myself, but there are certain things that are conducive to happy clean living…and I try to have the awareness to get a “little bit of that” into my day!! Have a super wonderful weekend, Lisa!! 🙂

    1. Thank you for sharing Lorrie and so nice to see you. I am sticking to a lighter blogging schedule for the sunny months here in beautiful BC so forgive my late replies!! I believe that we all get stuck in that circle, but you know how to recognize that there IS a circle and that is half the battle won right there. Sending you hugs and smiles and good health. Lisa

Leave a Reply

