A Balancing Act Indeed

Life is a balancing act that will keep you on your toes for a lifetime. This is a recent Happy Box creation that seemed to fit my current schedule perfectly. I love that saying, “God only gives me what I can handle, I just wish he didn’t trust me so damn much!”balancingact_HB2015

I am dealing with the second round of head lice in my house for the second time in three months. If anyone has any tried and true advice PLEASE, PRETTY PLEASE share it with me in the comments. And if anyone has any words of comfort, I would appreciate those too.

Spending three plus hours a night nit picking kids hair while trying to work, feed everyone, help with homework, make quality time for my loved ones, study, meditate, BLOG and make it to yoga is proving to be less of a balancing act and more of a lopsided teeter totter. I thought I had won the battle, but last night I realized the victory was not mine at all.

I have to keep this one short and sweet but I do hope to swing by all your blogs very soon. They fill my soul like church does for some folks. Blessings to you all.

Oh, and if your scalp got itchy from reading this, I do apologize. It happens… a LOT!

Live life in FULL bloom – Lisa

BloomLisa Facebook Page to get your daily dose of my Happy Boxes
Twitter
Pinterest

19 thoughts on “A Balancing Act Indeed

  1. Have you tried Young Living essential oils? I see in my reference manual some head rinse formulas. One has lavendar, eucalyptus, geranium oils and vinegar/water. 2nd has rosemary, clove , peppermint, coconut oil. I’ll send pohto to FB!

    1. Thank you so much Barbara! I will check it out. I do spray the girls hair daily with a mix of essential oil as preventative step. That coconut oil is a life saver isn’t it? Thanks again angel!!!

  2. I feel your pain. I didn’t like doing it, but when my daughter had it years ago, we used the shampoo you can get in the drug stores and it did the trick quick. I figured it was worth it to be done with it.

  3. Thanks Alethea. These days they are so resistant you have to do three weeks of follow up to make sure you get all of them. It is a time consuming and paranoid endeavour. All the best!

  4. Oh, Lisa!! I want to be strong for you and offer some helpful hints…or words of encouragement…uh…sorry!!!! I wouldn’t be able to do what you are doing!….I was always Sooooo grateful my son never came home with them!!!
    Ok…here’s my best shot…”love them…tell them you love them as one of God’s creatures…but then tell them they HAVE TO GO!!” My heart is with you…you can do this!!! ❤

    1. Thanks Lorrie. I have been repeating, these lice won’t get the best of me. I use the time to be present, feel close to my girls and mantra….mostly. It is a process! Thank you so much for the kind words. They are beautiful and greatly appreciated. Blessitude to you!

  5. Lisa, I have a certified nitpicker at work I wish I could ship to you to help out 😉 I have experience with ringworm (caught from a foster dog), but not this. Best of luck!

    1. Oh Heather, how I wish you could send her to me too! Ringworm doesn’t sound like a good situation to deal with either. Thank you for the kind words; I feel the support! Blessings to you!!,

  6. Lisa, sorry about the head lice invasion in your home. I went through this years ago when my son brought them home from school. I remember I had to wash all the bedding in hot water. I’m sure you know about that. I also remember that the pharmacist told me that most head lice in Vancouver have built a resistance to the shampoos in the drugstores. Maybe try out different ones until you find the right one? On an energetic level I would try visualizations like healing your home with light and love and saying prayers and ask angels to help. It will help at least for the stress that is related to this all.
    Good luck, Darling!
    xo
    Luzia

    1. Sorry to hear you had to endure as we call them, “the stinkers”. My daughter has the hair of an animal pelt, so thick it is tough to find her scalp! The whole lot of us had it in December and this time it is only our oldest daughter. It can be hard to find all those nits so I spend 2-3 hrs every night for 3 weeks checking. I use the time to breath calmly, enjoy being close to her sweet energy and say a prayer of gratitude that it is only “the stinkers” and nothing more serious that has disrupted our life. Thank you for the support!

  7. Oh I remember their visits when my children were small… Yikes… I feel for you Lisa.. I know way way back then there was a shampoo.. which was toxic I am sure.. but I wasn’t as well educated back then.
    I am sure you must be able to get something from a Health Store which isn’t toxic.. I am sure things have improved in the last 35 yrs since my children were small… My eldest will be 40 this year… another YIKES lol which makes feel feel I should be ancient.. 🙂 haha… I hope all went well..

    1. Thanks for the tips. It has been time consuming but I am feeling confident I have won the battle! Tomorrow is a bit check and I have been praying hard that all my efforts have paid off. They have even more toxic shampoo today too. I tend to slather their heads in cheap conditioner then wrap their hair in plastic bags for an hour. Then a combing, a rinse, a vinegar rinse, another comb and then a good cry from being broken backed and cross eyed!!!

Leave a Reply

