Pleasure, Happiness and Joy, Which Do You Seek?

When people are asked what they want most in life, many people answer with one simple word.

Happiness.happiness_blog

Elusive and fleeting, happiness has become something we chase rather than embody. And what does “being happy” even really mean to you. How many of us have reduced that question down so that we can actually see the truth underneath all of our walls? Recently I have spent quite a bit of time considering the difference between pleasure, happiness and joy in my pursuit of a “happier” life.

We can cultivate pleasure in our lives through physical sensations and earthly delights. To satisfy desires and cravings leaves us feeling satiated in the moment, but sadly the pleasure never lasts.pleasure_quote

Our search for happiness leads us down an emotional road of ups and downs. Other people, our careers and our accomplishments can certainly elevate our mood, but this level of happiness is also fleeting.10421443_10152501433575155_9096040746991991732_n

The search for joy happens inside, at a soul level. To find silence in a state of meditation leads to a sense of joy that is unparalleled by any other experience. To live life in a present state, aware of our relationship with God/the universe/Source, you will find a comfort and an ever-present soft place to fall that is lacking from the earthly pleasures we too often seek to lift our moods.

I am the first to admit that the peace, serenity and joy achieved by meditation can be de-railed by the demands of life. This only means I have to work harder at achieving the silence and modelling the lessons learned while there. A perspective of gratitude goes a LONG way in maintaining this state. A miracle is not something that happens in a blue moon, it is a simple shift in perspective. Allowing your gaze to be one of love and appreciation for all the blessings in your life over the hardships.BloomLisa_HB_Owl_Meditate

In the busy weeks ahead, make time for your meditation practice and reap the rewards in every aspect of your life.

All good things to you and thank you so much for stopping by! Wishing you peace, grace and love today and all days – Lisa _/|\_

Please Like my BloomLisa Facebook Page to get your daily dose of my new “Happy Boxes”, a co-creation of affirmations and quotes paired with my husband’s beautiful photography. Or here for my Twitter and Pinterest accounts. I am accepting booking in the Metro Vancouver area for holiday events both for corporate and private functions. quarter_ad_ScSh_2014

 

15 thoughts on “Pleasure, Happiness and Joy, Which Do You Seek?

  1. Nice reminders Lisa. I like the line about the search for joy is a soul thing. Some would suggest joy comes as a product of service. It seems to me that joy is a deeper natural state while happiness tends to be connected to externals. Ultimately it may not matter what we call it, but that we do our best to bring those soul qualities into our daily lives. 🙂
    blessings, Brad

    1. Yes, we can get caught up on specific words and their meanings too much. It can interfere with real progress! The state of bliss that doesnt end is the goal and maintaining it is the work. I agree, it is the quality that matters. Thanks for stopping by Brad; ao nice to see you as always.

  2. I love this!! 🙂 Joy is everything to me! And I do feel joy most of the time, and if not I seek it out 🙂 But I have created a life built on joy, so I am not distracted by so much else around me, it is not a very materialistically rich life, but I really do not care so much about that. For me it is more about having a rich life on the inside, not on the outside, so that is what I have chosen to focus on 🙂 🙂

    1. Your joy is radiated through your blog sweet lady and I can feel it in my bones each time I see you (digitally!!!). You are dialed into the true nature of life, not the one man has created which is so separate from the natural world. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your light Trini!

    1. Thank you so much Heather. My husband took that photo at a wildlife rehabilitation centre this past summer. We learned the #1 killer of owls is our littering on highways from car windows. The mice go after the food and the owls go after the mice and are hit by vehicles. Glad to see you are rockin’ you world sweet thing!

      1. Oh no … that’s terrible 😦 Littering in general is something I don’t really understand …

        But I love the sweet personality of the owl your husband captured in the photograph. He did a fantastic job!!

  3. Thanks for the reminder Lisa. It seems that this time of year is when I get most off track. Hope you have a Blessed Holiday.

Leave a Reply

